Skip to main content

What We Do

Eligibility to Receive Services

If you are interested in receiving services through The Arc of Blackstone Valley, you will need to become eligible through the Rhode Island Department of Behavioral, Healthcare, Developmental Disabilities and Hospitals (BHDDH).

There are 2 requirements in order to receive BHDDH-funded services.
You must:
1. Be eligible for BHDDH services by having an intellectual disability before age 22, or another type of developmental disability which requires services similar to those needed by people with an intellectual disability. See Eligibility Criteria below for more details.
2. Be found Medicaid eligible by the Department of Human Services.


To be eligible for support services funded through the Division of Developmental Disabilities, individuals must have an Intellectual Disability with valid IQ score below 70 or meet the following definition of developmental disability, as stated in RI State Law:
The term “developmental disability” means a severe, chronic disability of a person which:
• Is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or combination of mental and physical impairments;
• Is manifested before the person attains age twenty-two (22);
• Is likely to continue indefinitely;
• Results in substantial functional limitations in three or more of the following areas of major life activity:

1 Personal care
2 Communication
3 Mobility
4 Learning
5 Self-direction
6 Capacity for independent living 
7 Economic self-sufficiency

• And reflects the person’s need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic care, treatment, or other services which are life-long or of extended duration and are individually planned and coordinated.

  • Shri Yoga
    Shri Yoga
  • Otrando Porcaro
  • USI- United States Insurance
© 2024 The Arc of Blackstone Valley

Powered by Firespring